Student is selective mute

Discussion in 'General Education' started by PalmdaleMark, Jan 28, 2017.

1. PalmdaleMark

PalmdaleMark Rookie

Jan 28, 2017

Hello, I am a new Special Ed teacher and one of my students is a selective mute. I have tried a number of strategies (picture cards, fantasy role play, etc.) to get her to speak with no success. Does anyone have some ideas they've heard of or have worked for them? Thank you so much!

Mark

3. creativemonster

creativemonster Comrade

Jan 28, 2017

When you say "selective mute," does this mean that sometimes she does speak? Sorry not familiar with this term. If she does sometimes speak, has anyone kept record of when she speaks and what she does? (this might be telling?) sorry if I'm way off track, I'm not sped teacher, but find that student's idea of importance with their communication matters. Is she primary or high school?

4. PalmdaleMark

PalmdaleMark Rookie

Jan 28, 2017

She speaks at home, but nowhere else according to mom. She is a 1st grade special ed student. I have seen a recording of her speaking at home and she is quite articulate, and has a good sense of humor. Thank you for your help!

5. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Jan 28, 2017

I had a student who was a selective mute when I taught kindergarten. I just kept talking to her and let her nod her yes and nos. I just kept pretending she could talk. I was as sweet as sugar. And by the end of the year she started talking. But there wasn't really an expectation like they have in first grade to read aloud etc.

PalmdaleMark likes this.
  6. PalmdaleMark

PalmdaleMark Rookie

Jan 28, 2017

I too have no expectations, and have a great relationship with my kiddo. Hopefully, she'll be speaking at the end of the year as well...

7. dr.gator

dr.gator Comrade

Jan 28, 2017