Student having a very rough time at home, want to let her know we care.

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by teacherperson, May 1, 2017.

1. teacherperson

teacherperson Rookie

May 1, 2017

I'm a student teacher and a student of mine (3rd grade) is going through some horrific stuff at home and with her family (drugs, violence, etc). I wanted to do a little something for her just to let her know that we (the main classroom teacher and I) care a lot for her. Obviously, we've already reported it and all that, but now I just want to do something personal for her, like write a little note to her or something...I don't know, but you know what I mean? Are there any cards or poems or anything for something like this? Any ideas?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 1, 2017

How about just giving this kiddo a little extra attention?

Take your cues from your CT

Last edited: May 1, 2017
    otterpop likes this.
  4. GemStone

GemStone Habitué

May 2, 2017

I agree with czacza to follow your CT on this.

In my experience, cards and poems are really just not done in this situation. The best thing you can do is keep school a safe, predictable place.

czacza, Backroads and Obadiah like this.
  5. rpan

rpan Cohort

May 2, 2017

Take a couple of minutes to have a chat with her after class or before lunch or when there is a spare couple of minutes available. Talk to her about things unrelated to homework or school e.g her favourite food, which is her favourite superhero, normal kid stuff. In a rough home environment, she probably doesn't get asked 'how was your day sweetheart' as much as she would like, so take the time to give her a few minutes of your time. That's priceless.

yellowdaisies and otterpop like this.
  6. Obadiah

Obadiah Groupie

May 2, 2017