Student filmed me in class

Discussion in 'General Education' started by beginningteacher, Jan 31, 2017.

1. beginningteacher

beginningteacher New Member

Jan 31, 2017

I am a beginning teacher.

I have just started the school year last week and I have a few disruptive students in my senior class.
    I teach a very low level of maths.
    A particular student 'A' was very disrespectful towards me in my first lesson with them. After he found out I had taught his step brother 'B' last year. A asked B how I was as a teacher. B was also a difficult student but I later formed a great respectful relationship with him in my class. A told me that B had said I was the best teacher ever.
    From that moment on A and a few other naughty kids have gained a positive relationship with me. They are not perfect but they respect me.

However today A informed me that his brother B had been suspended possibly to be expelled. I said I was sad about this news and hope that his brother B can be ok and come back to school in the right mind.

A then whips out his phone and I believe he starated recording me saying I should tell B myself. I told him repeatedly to put his phone away and he finally did.
    However now I am nervous that he has now got a snippet or a short video of me, his teacher on his mobile.

My school has a strict no mobile phone policy and I guess I should have confiscated but it was within the last few minutes of the last session of the day.
    Should I do something like ask him to delete the video or am I just stressing out?

3. Mr Magoo

Mr Magoo Comrade

Jan 31, 2017

Last edited: Feb 25, 2017
    Secondary Teach and ms.irene like this.
  4. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Jan 31, 2017