Student diagnosed with Crohn's disease...help!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mrsmit, Jan 23, 2018.

1. mrsmit

mrsmit New Member

Jan 23, 2018

Hi there,
    The new school year is beginning next week and I have just been informed by a parent of a child in my class that their child has Crohn's disease and due to medication changes, the child will not be allowed to participate in any physical activity, this includes indoor games, outdoor games, morning fitness, PE lessons, drama classes etc. because the parent would like the child to save their energy for academic stuff because the child gets fatigued easily and needs to save their energy for maths and English.

I am a 2nd year graduate and this is a new school for me, I have to meet with the parent and principal next week.

My question is, what accomodations do I make. For example, if this child can't participate at lunch and recess they will be lonely, do I force my class to go on a rotating roster of sitting with him on breaks so he doesn't get lonely? What other activities can I give him for breaks, PE lessons, drama lessons, times when the class plays games etc that he won't resent or make him feel isolated? All I can think of are card games, read a book etc.

I don't know the child yet so maybe there won't be a problem or perhaps the parent is overplaying how serious it is. Apart from reading up about his disease I'm not sure how else to accomodate in a caring way, any advice would be great!

I'm mostly worried about him socially (already, term hasn't even started!)

Thanks in advance

3. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Jan 23, 2018

He still needs to go with the class. He needs the social interaction. I know during PE that kids usually have some free time to interact with others. He can go without exercising. He can socialize during lunch, too.

4. janlee

janlee Devotee

Jan 23, 2018

5. janlee

janlee Devotee

Jan 23, 2018