Student Council/Leadership Class

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by KatieC, Jul 7, 2010.

1. KatieC

KatieC Rookie

Jul 7, 2010

I've been teaching Student Council (middle school level) for the past three years as my elective. It is a leadership class that handles the things that most StuCo clubs do- community service, school spirit, fundraising, etc. My class meets daily for an hour and I tend to have most of the same students for both semesters during the year.

I was hoping to find others who teach a similiar class or advise a club that would be willing to share ideas. I am in the process of creating a new syllabus for my class and looking for new activities and assignments for my students.

Thanks in advance!!

3. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Jul 7, 2010

We have a leadership class at the high school. I know they read 7 habits of highly effective teens.

4. eddygirl

eddygirl Companion

Jul 7, 2010

High school StuCo moderator here--I'd be happy to share ideas, but I don't teach a class. I meet with my StuCo one a month (about 80 students) and with the Executive Board 1-2 a month. We organize the "fun" activities around the school, and we participate in quite a few service projects.

5. Southern JC

Southern JC Companion

Jul 8, 2010