Student Binders for notes and assignments

Discussion in 'High School' started by Miss L, Jul 8, 2008.

1. Miss L

Miss L Rookie

Jul 8, 2008

I wanted to get your opinion on something...

I'm thinking of adopting a method my high school chemistry teacher used while I was a student (although, I teach History).

He had us each keep a binder for the class, with one section dedicated to notes and another to assignments. As he handed out assignments throughout the year (worksheets, quizzes, tests, labs, etc.) each came to us holepunched and with a number on the top right corner. The numbers obviously went in order as each assignment was passed out.

This allowed us to stay on top of our organization (everything was in ONE place and in it's proper order). He also kept his "Master Binder" in the classroom where he kept blank assignments in order so that we could constantly check to make sure we were up to date/missing something/etc.

He also went over each assignment after he graded it and handed it back so that we could correct our answers. Every now and then he would have a 'binder quiz' with questions such as "On document #17, what is the diagram in the bottom corner depicting?" or "On document #9, what is the equation and solution to number 3?"

This allowed us easy points for staying organized AND it forced us to review our material.

I'm thinking about starting this with my 10th grade US Studies students next year but I am not sure if I'm getting in over my head. My students were severely lacking in the organization department and I got tired of being asked a million times for worksheets, answers, etc. I think this may help them

(note: I am VERY VERY organized, I color code everything -folders, binders, etc. - haha I'm obsessed) so I'm not worried about that aspect of things.

THANKS for your advice!!:thanks:

3. deserttrumpet

deserttrumpet Comrade

Jul 8, 2008