Student Behavior with a Substitute

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by CMP1980, Sep 13, 2007.

1. CMP1980

CMP1980 New Member

Sep 13, 2007

So, I've been teaching for five years, and I have a pretty well behaved class. Their worse problem for me is talking. However, no matter what I try, they always misbehave with a sub. For example, today, two girls got into a scratching war when the sub was there. This type of behavior does not happen for me. Any suggestions??? What am I doing wrong that the kids continue to misbehave with a sub? And yes, there are consequences for their actions such as a letter of apology to the sub, silent lunch, phone calls to parents, etc..

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 13, 2007

You have done everything you can to ensure that they behave for the sub, but it is ultimately the sub's problem to deal with misbehavior. In my district, if a sub can't control a class they are blocked from subbing again. The sub needs to be able to lay down the law and put themselves in an authoratative manner.

4. 3Sons

3Sons Connoisseur

Sep 13, 2007

I think the consequences might be a bit light, and maybe not specific enough to the students who are misbehaving. Is it the sub who delivers the consequences, or is it you? If you're delivering them the next day, the kids may be used to the idea that the sub can't do anything to them (of course, the sub is doing something to them by proxy, but that's a bit of a stretch, and I imagine to kids tomorrow seems oh-so-far away).

The other thing I might try to find is consequences the students would absolutely dread, not just things that are a pain in the neck for them. Delivering an especially fearsome consequence once is much better than a moderate consequence several times.

5. Christine3

Christine3 Cohort

Sep 13, 2007