Student Banking System/Reward System

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by IloveKinder, Nov 7, 2007.

1. IloveKinder

IloveKinder Rookie

Nov 7, 2007

I am a talented and gifted teacher for third and fourth graders. I have really had a tough time with behavior management in the 4th grade. The unit we are working on right now is banking so I thought that I could extend the banking unit into a b-mod plan for the year. I plan to "deposit" money into the kids' checking accounts for good behavior and "withdraw" for bad behavior. Kids will keep track of their account balance in a check register. They will be able to use their money to purchase prizes such as pens, pencils, lunch with me, etc. Any ideas on prizes and how much these should cost?

3. revlove

revlove Rookie

Dec 4, 2007

I am trying the same approach with my children's ministry. I give points for certain things, behavior being the primary. Once a month they get to go to the 'store'.
    The problem I have is: point values vs. prize value. How much it too much, and how cheap can I get without really being considered 'cheap'. What a dilemma. :help:

4. applecore

applecore Devotee

Dec 6, 2007

I'm not a fan of monetary rewards at all...little Johnny and Suzy will want more than just the plastic toy or sticker you give them for their behavior efforts. Pretty soon it all adds up and in the trash later on.

What kind of intrinsic rewards can you do instead of saving up for monetary rewards?

I like the idea of keeping track of things like a bank, but can you do something else as a whole? 1 marble in the jar for each day the entire class works as a team...and don't remove any at all or they'll just give up on their goal. Make the goal to have X amount of marbles at the end of the week for free time outside, in the gym, play games, etc. Once they get adapted to the marble jar, move on to something else different to count and make the prize the same.

Good luck!

5. revlove

revlove Rookie

Dec 6, 2007