struggling writers

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by 2nd grade teach, Jan 8, 2007.

1. 2nd grade teach

2nd grade teach Rookie

Jan 8, 2007

I have a few students in my 2nd grade classroom that are way behind in writing. They really struggle with spelling, focusing their ideas, and handwriting. Do you have any ideas that I can use? I would like to work with the struggling students individually and in a small group.

I am a first year teacher, so I do not have a lot of ideas, and would love to hear some ideas. :D

3. Tbelle1035

Tbelle1035 Cohort

Jan 9, 2007

Have them begin by making "lists" rather than writing sentences.

Use a graphic organizer to get them going.

4. Dave81

Dave81 Rookie

Feb 3, 2007

Have them write in a journal every day. Put a topic on the board and have them respond to it. Keep the journal light and friendly--something age appropriate.

Also have them draw a picture and write about their picture.

5. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Feb 3, 2007

You want to encourage these kids not discourage them.... so as has been said, start small. If the child writes a word or two... praise them. Have them read what they've written.

I've found that when children re read what they have written, they will often elaborate( as in make it up) and actually end up telling quite a story.... so the problem is really getting them to express themselves on paper... I think we can encourage them in small steps and having them personalize their writing by drawing pictures....

You will get there!

6. Tbelle1035

Tbelle1035 Cohort

Feb 4, 2007

Has anyone else noticed that those students who have the most to say are the same ones who struggle with writing their thoughts down?

7. cberles

cberles Rookie

Feb 4, 2007

TOO MUCH ASSESSING? TOO HIGH OF STANDARDS??

I am a 3rd year 2nd grade teacher and was wondering what you all assess in 2nd grade for writing??