Struggling with colleague big time

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Kaley12, Mar 21, 2017.

1. Kaley12

Kaley12 Companion

Mar 21, 2017

I work in a class with a para. She's an absolute nightmare. She has been doing this job for 6 years, and has been placed with a different class each year (in different schools) because she has such large conflicts with every single teacher she has worked with. Some to the point where they've filed complaints against her. I've heard such horror stories about her, and now I'm living them, even though I've been going out of my way to appease her. I'm a very passive and quiet person, and somehow I still manage to set her off. She's basically impossible to please.

If something is not to her liking, she lets me know without fail, in the rudest and most condescending way. She's demeaning to me all the time, even with the kids present. She constantly tells me that she knows more than me (even though I've been teaching for several years longer than she's been a para), she makes personal insults towards me, she's told me off multiple times about the most random things (i.e. one time I moved an activity up by a period because of a change in my prep time, and she LOST IT because she didn't like the new time for it I chose). And worst of all, she is beyond useless at her job. She doesn't do anything but sit at a desk. She barely looks in the direction of the kids. If I dare ask if she can help with something, she snaps at me with comments such as "I'm not a kid so don't tell me what to do" or "I know what to do, not you".