struggling readers

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by teacherhoosier, Feb 2, 2019.

1. teacherhoosier

teacherhoosier Companion

Feb 2, 2019

I am a first grade teacher (have been for the last 8 years). I've noticed the last few years, I have a group of kiddos each year that just don't seem to grow much as readers throughout the year despite being met with every day for guided reading group and receiving pull-out interventions separately. I have a group of kiddos that came in this year at Bs and Cs and are currently reading Ds/Es. I have tried everything I can think of in my toolbox of tricks, but nothing seems to be clicking for these kiddos. Hopefully we will see progress soon. .Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

3. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Feb 4, 2019

Have you tried making something into a competition? I'm not familiar with guiding reading levels. What if you had them set a goal that they are trying to reach, such as reading a certain passage under a specific time limit? You could give them rewards for meeting their goals, even things as simple as writing with a colored pen for the day or sitting with a special stuffed animal. Everyone loves recognition for working hard.

I get where you're coming from. I've got a group of students like that too, although older. It's maddening when you're working so hard and their results don't show it. For some of my kiddos, it's that they find the assessments boring and they're not motivated to try their best.

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  4. Teacher234

Teacher234 Cohort

Feb 4, 2019

You could maybe try RazKids.
    For students who have shown little progress in my class, I work individually with them on a different activity.

5. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Feb 7, 2019