Stressed

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by green78, Apr 13, 2011.

1. green78

green78 Companion

Apr 13, 2011

I have been trying fora while now looking for a teaching job in NJ. I have my CEAS in p-3 and teacher of students with disabilities. I just can't seem to land the job.
    I should be happy I have a job at a private school in PA. I am a teacher for behavioral Autistic children. I have one student in my class because his behaviors are so bad we can not have him with other students. I am at my whits end. I can not take it anymore. It does not matter what we do to make him happy the still goes off because all he wants to do is go home.
    I really need to find a new job. I am 3 months pregnant and scared everyday at work because he know I can not do the CPI. I really need to figure something out. If anyone has any ideas please help me. I am at the point where I am thinking of a career change.

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Apr 13, 2011

I'm so sorry that you are feeling this way. This is exactly why I left the alternative school that I was working at.

Have you let your administration know your feelings yet? Maybe they could switch you with another teacher or provide an aide or someone else to be with you?

Will you be working with this child next year if you stay at the same school or will the students change with the changing grades?

4. green78

green78 Companion

Apr 13, 2011

I am stuck with this student until he graduates. My supervisor knows how I am feeling and knows I am looking elsewhere. We got a new student about a month ago and thought I would get that class, but my supervisor said it would be too much work to switch everything for the IEP.

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Apr 13, 2011

Oh my! Well, then I would keep looking but no that you are in this situation. Can you afford to leave the classroom for awhile?