Strategies for students who confuse D and B!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by andi137, Aug 22, 2007.

1. andi137

andi137 Companion

Aug 22, 2007

I have a student who constantly gets the letter D and B confused. I am a first year teacher so I don't have any experience with this. I was wondering if anyone had any good strategies to use or even any good tips for this. Thanks!!

3. mitten

mitten Rookie

Aug 22, 2007

Once I had a student use their non-writing hand as their guide...so if they were right-handed their left hand would make the letter b, so they could always check to make sure their bs were going the right way.

However, if they can't remember which letter it is that the hand makes then it hasn't helped at all. :dunno:

Or maybe stick both letters on their desk--b over the left hand with a picture of a balloon (or something) and then a d over their right hand with a picture of a dog (or something). Maybe it would sink in after a while.

4. sundrop

sundrop Cohort

Aug 22, 2007

The first grade teacher at my school tells the students that b has its belly sticking out. The visual helps them remember.

5. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Aug 22, 2007

Sundrop...that's what I told my lil one...b has a belly & d has a booty!!! I know it's silly but it works!!

6. MsX

MsX Companion

Aug 22, 2007

Another one I've heard is to make a "b" with your left hand and a "d" with your right hand and put the two next to each other. You've formed a "bed" (It sorta looks like one!) Bed begins with B and ends with D, so it's one way that helps some kids.

7. mitten

mitten Rookie

Aug 22, 2007

Okay, potentially silly question...why does b have the belly? I don't see a difference...why can't d have the belly? They look like they both have one to me. I get the letter association just not the visual.
    bd -- they're putting their bellies together???

8. sundrop

sundrop Cohort

Aug 22, 2007