Strategies for Reading / Sight Words

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by MusicMaker, Nov 7, 2006.

1. MusicMaker

MusicMaker Rookie

Nov 7, 2006

I'd like to send home something to parents on tips for helping their children to improve reading, sight words, etc. Does anyone have suggestions as to where to find an article about this? Thanks.

3. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

4. jaycay

jaycay New Member

Nov 11, 2006

sight words software

I am new to the message board and not very tech savy so I don't know how to link to another post but I was searching the K and Elementary forums and there is a Kindergarten post with a reply about sight words software. I was looking for computer activities and not sight words but I did check out the website mentioned in the post. sightwordswithsamson.com. Maybe it is worth taking a look at. Ciao, JC

5. westcoastteach

westcoastteach New Member

Dec 3, 2006

Sight Words Software

I am familiar with the website referenced by Janet as we use sightwordswithsamson.com in our classrooms. While the self instruction is not as strong as I would like it to be, I have found it to be a great way to build a bridge with parents on the subject of reading. The simple reporting structure is easy for parents to understand and facilitates goal setting and progress monitoring.

Hope this helps,
    Jerry

6. LABooks

LABooks Rookie

Dec 4, 2006

7. CBean

CBean Rookie

Dec 5, 2006

Well, it's not really an article, but here are some ideas for parents working with sight words at home. I got them from:

http://www.rainbowwords.com/TeachingActivities.html

All of our K and some 1st grade classes use Rainbow Words to motiviate the students (and parents!) to learn sight words. It has a nice letter explaining to parents why sight words are important and it gives them fun activities to do at home with their child. Here are the ones from the www.RainbowWords.com website:

Activities for Parent & Child to Practice at Home