stoplight management system (long)

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by kell447, Sep 27, 2008.

1. kell447

kell447 Rookie

Sep 27, 2008

Hello:) I am posting this here, as opposed to the behavior section, because I want some advice from first grade teachers...this is my first year teaching and its not HORRIBLE, but the boys in my class are rambunctious and I have one child in particular who is very challenging during carpet time. There is a lot of talking that goes on while im trying to teach and I end up stopping every 20 seconds. I also have a child who required a one on one aide who spins, pokes, walks around, and blurts out constantly. I have been a LITTLE nervous about starting a system, because I feel like once you start one, you MUST be consistent and dedicated and I am worried it will be too time consuming. But I feel like I need something in place so I do not need to constantly stop in the middle of a lesson.

So these are some ideas:
    I was going to first give the children assigned seats during carpet time. This is part of the problem. I then have a posterboard with pockets and in each pocket is a green, yellow, and red card. I will put numbers on each pocket and assign each child a number. I wil explain to them that they will be having 10 minutes of friday fun each week at the end of the day on fridays. At the end of each day,the children who are on green will earn two minutes of friday fun. This is as far as I have gotten....but I need some feedback...

1)Do children on yellow get one minute and children on red recieve 0 minutes? This is already sounding like a lot to remember at the end of the week..any suggestions?

2) Do you like the idea of positvely reinforcing them versus taking AWAY the time? Do you feel taking away the time will be more effective for some reason?

3) What behaviors result in flipping a card? And how do you manage this while you are teaching? Are you constantly stopping and flipping cards in the middle of your lesson?