State Tests

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TheChampion, Oct 15, 2011.

1. TheChampion

TheChampion New Member

Oct 15, 2011

Hi everyone, Lately I've had an interest in elementary education (I think it would be sweet to be able to teach and integrate sustainability into my curriculum), but one thing that really bothers me about the teaching profession is state testing. The thing is that i don't want to just be doing test prep all year long, so I have a few questions concerning state testing for any teachers out there:

1. What percentage of the stuff you teach over the school year would you say is strictly in order to prepare students for state tests (versus creative exercises, reading to the students, etc)?

2. Do some districts focus more on state tests than others?

Thank you for your time!

3. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Oct 15, 2011

There's definitely a difference in how districts, schools, etc approach testing. I am a 4th grade teacher. That means I give the high stakes LEAP. Even if a child makes straight As - if they fail LEAP, they fail 4th grade. However, we don't do test prep. We teach. We follow the state curriculum and let that guide us. Our principal believes that if we teach what we are supposed to teach, and we teach it well, then our kids will do ok. When I changed schools I had the choice of 4th or 5th. 5th grade tests, but it's not high stakes. Even with that, I chose 4th. LEAP is just a test. I bust my butt to get my kids ready for life. That gets them ready for LEAP. Personally, I think elementary (esp. 4th :D) is the best age range there is.

4. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Oct 15, 2011

I agree with Christy that some schools emphasize it more than others. We hear a lot about not teaching to the test at our school, but teaching authentically. However, it's not what is really put into practice. It's like they know that's the best thing to do, but it's not practical to run things that way.