Starting Pay

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by CatfaceMeowmers, Dec 19, 2014.

1. CatfaceMeowmers

CatfaceMeowmers Companion

Dec 19, 2014

So I just graduated with an MAT in middle level math and English. I have no teaching experience, besides 3 years of substitute experience.

I am currently residing in AR but will be moving to NV very shortly (with no job LOL).

I read that the starting pay for MA+0 is $40k. How is this as a starting pay? I mean, I'm not complaining. I just never really thought much about salary or benefits. It's still a bit scary to see myself as a real adult... (I'm in my early twenties).

And this may be a laughable question, but how "easy" is it to up your pay?

Thanks guys :)

3. Froreal3

Froreal3 Companion

Dec 20, 2014

You need to look up the pay scale for teachers in NV. I assume this is the page you would look at (under licensed personnel).

http://ccsd.net/employees/current/employment/salary

The cost of living in the area in which you settle will determine whether those are good salaries or not. Make a mock budget with all of your expenses (including rent, student loans, car, food, entertainment, miscellaneous, savings, utilities etc) and see if this salary is livable. Ask yourself if you'd like to have children in the future and if your future salary (pay increases as you gain experience and education) will allow you to live comfortably.

As far as how easy it is to up your pay...well it looks like you need to gain both experience and further education (which is typical). Ask if exams for credit can be used or credits at online institutions etc.

Good luck

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 20, 2014