starting new job 2nd semester

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by lareed, Dec 16, 2008.

1. lareed

lareed Companion

Dec 16, 2008

I was hired at the beginning of the year to teach 6th grade LA and SS half-time. Yesterday I interviewed for a 1st grade position that starts in January for the 2ns semester and I got the call today that I got the job :) I will be looping to 2nd grade with these children next year.

My question is, I want to do an organization binder (moose, bee, etc.). Is it ok to start this half way through the year? I havent went over all the details of the job, like what they are doing now but I have tons of ideas that I want to do regardless. I graduated a year and a half ago and have wanted to teach 1st ever since. I finally have the chance, but I know that huge change can be hard for 1st graders. I think that it is really important for them to be organized and responsible (especially after dealing with my current 6th graders who never do hw or return things).

I am so excited to move grades and have a full time job but I am also nervous about coming in half way through the year. Has anyone else experienced this type of situation??

Thanks!!

3. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Dec 19, 2008

I haven't been in your situation perse but I will say that I feel first graders are very resilient to changes as long as they are bombarded with too many at once. Is there a way that you could find out what their current teacher was using for organization? Find out what is used at the school with the other teachers? Sometimes schools have a school wide folder or procedure for this type of thing. I would suggest asking your school/new principal for the phone number of your new colleagues and call a few and chat about these things. This way you will be able to be more prepared and can figure out how to tweak current procedures little by little.
    You are going to LOVE first grade. It is my absolutely favorite age level. They are so wonderful!!!!!!!!!!