Starting Monday- with no information

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by escape3500, Mar 26, 2011.

1. escape3500

escape3500 Rookie

Mar 26, 2011

Hello, I am a brand new teacher (graduated Spring 2010) that was recently hired to teach 4th grade in an inner city school. My interview was in the form of teaching a lesson to the kids, and did not conclude with a tour of the school or any additional information. I did not expect to get the job, but I did. I am starting a week from Monday (Spring recess is this week) but I am very concerned because I have no information about the school.

I called the principal Friday to ask if there was a time I could come in to set up the classroom, pick up some curriculum materials, or access student data so I could start planning. I don't even have a class list. She said no, no one will be at the school during the vacation, but she'd have the curriculum coordinator call me (no one did). That was all the information she would give me.

I am going in Tuesday to the board of education to do my "new teacher orientation." I was told it will only take an hour, and the only thing we are going to do is in-process my paperwork.

So, what gives? How can I start teaching Monday when I don't even know how many students I will have, or where the bathrooms are, or what specials we have or where the teachers lounge is...

I have been a district substitute all year long in another district, so I am very good with going with the flow and flying by the seat of my pants. However, I was always given a plan by the classroom teacher. I am very capable of planning on my own, but this is hard to do with no information.

I get the impression that the teacher I am replacing just quit, because the classroom was completely empty aside from desks. So I will have no help from the previous teacher and the principal, I gather, will be no help as well.