Starting a For-Profit After School Program?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Peregrin5, Oct 30, 2016.

1. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Oct 30, 2016

As I'm thinking about leaving teaching next year, I have some plans on how to utilize my teaching experience, particularly in teaching STEM, and connecting it to the education that I'm pursuing as an electrical engineer.

One of my pet ideas that I've had for a while is starting a for-profit enrichment after school program leading kids in engaging in engineering and science activities. I've never done something like this before and I imagine it would be akin to starting a new small business (which I've always wanted to try). The for-profit part is mainly to maintain all the costs associated with purchasing materials, and possibly giving me a small amount of income while I'm attending school. Possibly for field trips as well.

I plan on developing some really cool and engaging curriculum that centers around large projects such as launching a satellite (or something analogous to that), building robots and electronic inventions, and possibly drones. which would include aspects of electrical engineering, software engineering, and science and math concepts. This will be in the heart of a major city. Since I'll be attending university as an engineering student I will be creating connections with other engineering students, and professors who might be interested in coming to speak as mentors, possibly companies who might be interested in hosting field trips, and maybe even new teacher candidates interested in getting experience with students in an after school setting. But first I think I'd just start small with myself and a few students at a school willing to host us (or maybe a community center).

I am wondering if anyone has had any experience doing anything like this? What are some challenges and obstacles I will face? Any ideas and thoughts as to the viability of this venture?

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven