Stanford Univ. Report Questions CAHSEE Bias

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by shawnehamilton, Apr 21, 2009.

1. shawnehamilton

shawnehamilton New Member

Apr 21, 2009

Hi Everyone,

I'm a former high school teacher (still credentialed) and current capitol reporter in California. Speaker Karen Bass today issued a press release about a Stanford University report that questions the bias of the California High School Exit Exam. I'd appreciate your noting any inaccuracies in the history of the CAHSEE and would appreciate your comments on the topic.

"Stanford University report calls into question California High School Exit Exam"

Google: Stanford Bass Examiner

I appreciate your interest.

Shawn Hamilton

3. SSA

SSA Companion

Apr 22, 2009

I looked at Karen Bass's press release, but it didn't link to any more detailed report of the findings of the study or really say virtually anything about the report, which is rather typical for politicians.

I did read several stories that actually cited the study in question and most of the stories emphasize a decline in the graduation rates amongst females and students of color. The data is supposedly based upon information from "four large California school districts, those in Fresno, Long Beach, San Diego and San Francisco." In the LA Times story, researcher Sean Reardon, suggests that the "conclusions had broad application for all California schools."

Honestly, if their data set is based upon these four districts I think that Reardon is making a broad generalization with limited data. First, those districts aren't perfectly representative of CA. Furthermore, the CDE's data for 2007-08 shows that female 10th graders actually did better than males in both Math AND ELA.