Standards Based Curriculum...oy

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by juc162, Sep 30, 2007.

1. juc162

juc162 Companion

Sep 30, 2007

Hi everyone, I'm a first year teacher and have been having my fair shar e of headaches already this year.

I work for a charter school which has adopted a standards based curriculum. This is really great in theory, however, we don't have the appropriate curriculum (aka textbooks) to support our standards. We use Open Court for reading which isn't too bad even though there are discrepancies. For math we have Everyday Math which doesn't match a lot of our standards. For social studies, in 4th grade we're supposed to be learning about native americans and our textbook is all about different states in different regions of the country. I find myself supplementing so many materials because of this making countless copies.

The school provided a box of copy paper to each teacher at the beginning of the school year but I am running very low already because I am making so many copies all the time. For a while, the copiers would break all the time as well. Thank heavens we just got 2 new copy machines.

I was struggling the most with classroom management at first but that is much more in control now. My struggle has now shifted to planning. With no curriculum in place for me to follow, all I have are "curriculum maps" the school district has created. However, these maps are broken down into 3 or 4 week units depending on the standards they meet and are hard for me to follow.

How are you other teachers planning for your weeks? Can anyone give me some tips? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

3. ddb23

ddb23 Companion

Sep 30, 2007

If the curriculum maps are well done, then they should place emphasis on the "power standards," or standards that are most important for the student to grasp the overall goals of each subject.