Standardized Tests

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Deeena, Jan 11, 2008.

1. Deeena

Deeena Cohort

Jan 11, 2008

What type of things do you use to help get your 5th graders prepared for standardized tests (CA teachers especially). I've used a few things, but this is my first year teaching and I want to make sure I fully prepare my students for the STAR test. Thanks

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 11, 2008

Encourage them to think about why one answer makes sense and the others make less sense?

4. BabyMakes3

BabyMakes3 Rookie

Jan 11, 2008

Our grade level does daily reading and math warm-ups. They are both timed tests and we've seen some postive results based on our AIMS Web scores.

We do weekly problem solving problems. On Monday they are assigned a problem. It must be solved by Wednesday. Wed AM we go over it. They must have it explained, step by step, by Friday. Friday AM we review the steps together.

We also always remind them of various strategies such as thinking which answer sounds best, crossing out responses that are not possible, etc.

5. noreenk

noreenk Cohort

Jan 12, 2008

We do daily warmups in test format to practice strategies. We go over them together so I can model how students should find key words in the question, show their work, etc. I also send kids up to the overhead to show how they solved their work... I send students who make mistakes, too, so the other students can try to fix the error. My kids know that just circling the correct answer is not an option- they have to prove why they eliminated the other choices.

6. kkrosesmom

kkrosesmom Rookie

Jan 12, 2008