Staff Development Days

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ohteachr, Aug 6, 2009.

1. ohteachr

ohteachr Rookie

Aug 6, 2009

What do staff development days look like for you?

I'm a first year teacher and my school year begins next week with a week and a half of staff development days, and I'm just wondering what I should expect. I know my school may be different than yours and I'll probably know more after new teacher orientation, but I'm still curious!

3. karebear76

karebear76 Habitué

Aug 6, 2009

Ours are very casual. Usually some planned PD, staff meetings, union meeting, grade level meetings, and time to work in classroom. We have 2 days. One day usually has lunch provided b/c kitchen staff have to report as well.

4. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Aug 6, 2009

Ours have fallen prey to the budget cut axe. New teachers have one day at the district office, I believe, and we returning teachers show up the day before school starts for a whole-staff meeting and then individual department meetings. Because two PD days were cut, my district no longer requires 12 hours of PD for the year. I think that's pretty sad - people moaned and complained about having to do it, but at least they had some opportunities for professional growth. Now we've been given permission to remain stagnant.

I love going to conferences, and will probably go to CATE on my own dime again this year. I'd love to get to NCTE, but it's in Philadelphia and would be pretty pricey. Maybe next year in Chicago, though...

5. Securis

Securis Cohort

Aug 6, 2009

As per my own experience, we sat through 8 meetings in three days and at the end barely had two official hours in our rooms to prepare for children today.

These meetings, while containing pertinent material, were repetitive, boring, and ironically, were the antithesis of the topics presented. They were colored with too much personal blather from the presenters in relation to the topics but had very little actual substance.