ST in CA

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by TamiJ, Apr 15, 2008.

1. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Apr 15, 2008

Hello! I will be student teaching in the Fall, here in CA. I am very worried about being critiqued in front of professional teachers. Maybe I am weird. I currently work as a language arts tutor, so I have experience (some) teaching and handling behavior. Some times I work in other teacher's classrooms, and I get nervous because I feel like I am being critiqued and then I feel like I don't do a good job as a result. Does anyone here student teach in CA? Can you tell me what to expect? Will I have someone observing me all the time??? I am getting nervous. Please help me... :help::unsure::unsure::unsure:

3. Kerfuffle

Kerfuffle Rookie

Apr 18, 2008

From what I've experienced in my program in CA, the amount you are observed while teaching depends on your mentor teacher, and if you have a flexible mentor teacher it will depend on what you want, too.

It is very normal to feel less comfortable teaching while being observed... just remember that you are learning and the person observing you is there to help you learn. They know you will not be perfect.

Good luck! :)

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Apr 18, 2008

Are you currently student teaching, Kerfuffle?

5. Kerfuffle

Kerfuffle Rookie

Apr 18, 2008

Yep.

6. TeacherJ4life

TeacherJ4life Companion

Apr 19, 2008