Spelling help

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Funsuperteacher, Nov 23, 2020.

1. Funsuperteacher

Funsuperteacher New Member

Nov 23, 2020

I am a teacher who is currently providing private tutoring instead of classroom instruction. I have a special needs 7th grader who can't spell beyond simple CVC words. He can read them, but there is some kind of disconnect when he actually has to spell them (orally, verbal, or written). I have tried to teach him basic spelling rules, but he neither remembers them nor understands them. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to help him learn how to spell? Thanks.

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Nov 24, 2020