Sped Curriculum?????

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by blueyedgirl, Feb 20, 2010.

1. blueyedgirl

blueyedgirl New Member

Feb 20, 2010

Hello everyone. I am a 2nd year sped teacher for amazing students with severe and profound disabilities.....I love my job and my students so much but am at wits end with administration. THye seem to have NO clue what they are doing or what direction they are in. My problem is:

I have SEVERAL very teachable students that are excited and motivated to learn, i have a few that are below that and I have a few that are extremely severe and are mostly there for therapy reasons. However I MUST include all my students in my lesson plans and meet all their IEP goals etc. Which is fine and challenging but I dont know where to go from here. I go back and forth and nothing is ever good. I feel like my advanced students that ARE capable of doing more are not gettin all they can get bc it is impossible to spread my self 15 different ways.....We have no curriculum and I was just curious as to what other schools do without a curriculum? I understand it would be near impossible to have a set curriculum for my students as they are so scattered but it was be nice to have a guide line as to what to teach, the order, etc....I have nothing , i want to teach sight words, multiplication, etc, and have no clue how to begin!

Just finised up 10 apa's, thought i was goign to have a heart attack, I am ready to get back to "teachign" and leave those behind but want to start with a positive approach

ANy suggestions woud be great.....

Discouraged Diana :(

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Feb 20, 2010