Special educators starting at gen ed or special ed?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by MissPapa, May 22, 2012.

1. MissPapa

MissPapa Comrade

May 22, 2012

Hello, so I am new here and I'd like to say that I am currently a graduate student studying childhood special education. My question is, where did any of you start, in general ed or special ed? I've heard a lot of teachers certified in special ed want to start off in general ed first because it's "easier" (I think it's challenging either way, but that's just me). Although, one ICT class I observed, the special educator started in self contained. I myself am still exploring how I'd want to start, maybe I'm open to how I start.

What's your story? :)

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

May 22, 2012

Welcome!

Do you mean starting as a resource teacher or starting as a regular education teacher?

4. MissPapa

MissPapa Comrade

May 22, 2012

What I meant was, did you start as a general education teacher (a regular teacher with a few students with IEPs), or a teacher that teaches most or all special ed students (self-contained/ICT/Resource room?) Hope I made it clearer :)

5. Special-t

Special-t Enthusiast

May 22, 2012

In my district we have many Gen ed elementary teachers who have gone into special ed because of layoffs. I have heard it's a very difficult transition to make. Probably because special-education was not their first choice. But I'm sure their experience as general education teachers is a plus when teaching special education.

I started out long-term subbing in general education and I think that experience has made me a better special education teacher.

From what I have seen, teaching general education is not necessarily easier than special-education. Both are very challenging and very rewarding.

6. waterfall

waterfall Maven

May 22, 2012