Special Education Behavior Modification

Discussion in 'Behavior Management Archives' started by Sweetlg, Aug 10, 2004.

1. Sweetlg

Sweetlg New Member

Aug 10, 2004

:eek: Hello - I am a special education teacher. I will be having 6 Autistic / PDD students ages 5-7 in my class come September. I had used a simple penny chart last year with my higher functioning students and it worked like a charm. The only problem this year is that my students are a little lower functioning and their behaviors stem more from frustration than a behavior problem.

Does anyone have any suggestions for successful behavior modification with the Autistic population?

Thanks,
    Lauren :D

3. Seich30

Seich30 Comrade

Aug 11, 2004

I would suggest lots more immediate rewards and praise, rather than long term or weekly award.

4. Sweetlg

Sweetlg New Member

Aug 11, 2004

thank you for yhe advice!

5. rrmay

rrmay Guest

Aug 11, 2004

Teacher

Hi Lauren,

I'm also a teacher of autistic students. My students are a combination of high and low functioning. I used a life skills chart very successfully last year.
    The life skills are things like respect, integrity, cooperation, ..i.e. rules for life. When they were displayed, students were given a token that collectively could be redeemed for a group reward. I used an educational movie and popcorn. I gradually raise the bar, (they barely notice it), they continue to do well. This is a brief response but I hope you get the gist of it. I hope this will help you in your decisions. Let me know..

6. Sweetlg

Sweetlg New Member

Aug 11, 2004

Very good ideas thank you! I will let you know! Lauren

7. cameron812

cameron812 Rookie

Aug 15, 2004

It is nice to see that you are talking about positive reinforcement, most places that use time-outs and such for behavioral modification and forget the positive reinforcement.