Special Education and 1:1 technology and CBE

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Geoff, Jul 28, 2020.

1. Geoff

Geoff Guest

Jul 28, 2020

Hello all! This is my first post in this forum. I am here because my district is making several large-scale changes simultaneously. We have adopted Leader-in-Me as our social/emotional learning framework; a competency-based education (CBE) scope and sequence; 1:1 technology; and we purchased Schoology as our learning management system.

Now, a little about me: I am a resource special education teacher for 3-5 graders with learning and emotional disabilities. My district traditionally provides special education services at the elementary level via a pull-out model. With all of the district's changes, this feels like the prime time to change our delivery model to allow the kids with IEPs more time in the regular education environment. But, change to what? And how? I need to visualize and end before I begin the process of re-thinking my (and our) service delivery model. I don't want to continue doing what we are doing.

I am in need of ideas. How do you arrange special education programming in a 1:1, CBE school, with the goal of limiting pull-out instruction?

Thanks! And I look forward to responses.

3. NHSPEDMiddleSchool

NHSPEDMiddleSchool New Member

Aug 14, 2020

I have been a para for four years and a lot of the kids I was with were 1:1. We had a table or desk at the back of the room where we would sit during instruction then when the kids were let loose to complete what they just learned we would go to them or they would come to us in the back of the room for help. When applicable or in down time we would help the rest of the class as well. We usually had at least 2 para's in gen ed classes.

4. a2z

a2z Virtuoso

Aug 15, 2020