Spanish club

Discussion in 'General Education' started by riverdance85, Jan 24, 2014.

1. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Jan 24, 2014

This year, I sponsored Spanish club and at the beginning, had many students that were interested in joining. However, when we had the first meeting, only one student showed. Only the same student showed for the second meeting. At the third meeting (these are once a month, every last Friday of the month by the way), I told the student that due to lack of interest there wouldn't be any more meetings this semester.

What happened? I tried to get the students interested...but could it be that I am a male teacher? I am nice to my students, even when they are difficult. Could it also be the scheduling?

I was talking with another teacher about the subject today and she told me that 'it's not against you, but since we have a new (female, young) teacher, the club membership may pick up this semester.'

I am a young teacher, too... and I try to be enthusiastic. Am I just not the 'type' of teacher that a club may require to lead it? I feel a little bad since I worked pretty hard at preparing for the club and being approachable to the students.

Thanks!

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 24, 2014

Friday meetings are difficult. No one wants to stay at school on a Friday.

Sometimes students are just overextended. They want to be part of something but they just don't have the time to commit to it.

Maybe think about next year and plan out a few fun activities to get students invested from the very beginning.

4. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Jan 24, 2014

Thanks Caesar!

I forgot to add a few details: the meetings were during second shift lunch. Other clubs, however, still met (even though they also met Fridays and other days of the week).

5. Glühwürmchen

Glühwürmchen Rookie

Jan 24, 2014

I can't imagine that being a guy has anything to do with it.