Spanish C-Set Question

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by 4capulina, Jul 24, 2009.

1. 4capulina

4capulina Rookie

Jul 24, 2009

I am currently studying to take the Spanish C-Set this sept. I am planning on taking subsets 1, 2 & 3. What will this do for me if i pass these three subsets? I know that there are two remaining subsets. What do subsets 4 & 5 mean? I have heard that 1-3 allow you to teach sheltered classes (in spanish) in whatever area you are credentialed to teach in (i am credentialed in social studies, so i could teach that)... I've heard that subsets 4-5 (coupled with 1-3) allow you to teach Spanish classes to english speakers. Anyways, i just wanted to see what everyone thought about this. I am pretty confused about this... thanks to all who read this.... :thumb:

3. Malcolm

Malcolm Enthusiast

Jul 24, 2009

Passing CSET: LOTE Spanish subtests 1, 2, and 3 will allow you to add a Spanish Authorization to your credential. It will allow you to teach Spanish.

Passing CSET: LOTE Spanish subtests 3, 4 and 5 will allow you to add a Bilingual Authorization to your credential. It will allow you to deliver content in Spanish and to do English language development in Spanish.

Sheltered instruction is done in English. It is also referred to as Specially Designed Academic Instruction in English (SDAIE). All you need for this is your English Learner authorization which is part of your SB2042 credential if you got your credential recently or your CLAD certificate.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jul 24, 2009

I'll echo Malcolm: if your goal is to teach Spanish, all you need is the three subtests that focus on Spanish language, literature, and culture.

5. 4capulina

4capulina Rookie

Jul 24, 2009