Sooo upset!

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by Deeena, Nov 9, 2006.

1. Deeena

Deeena Cohort

Nov 9, 2006

This morning a student of mine came up to me and said, "My dad says that I learn nothing here at school." I am so hurt by this comment. I'm a first year teacher and feel like I'm failing my students. This parent is also one of the most least involved, so now I'm worried that if he feels this way then I wonder how many other parents think the same! I talked to my principal and he told me that he has not received any complaints. I called the parent and left a message telling him I would like to discuss any concerns he has regarding the curriculum. I feel so bad. I want my students and parents to feel like they are getting a lot out of my classroom. :(

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Nov 9, 2006

I am soooo sorry about how this parent feels. But, I've talked to you plenty of times and I know that you are doing the best you can. You're teaching Open court and you're doing the best you can with it. Also, it's just one parent- even if this parent is the "least involved", still, that doesn't mean the other parents feel the same way. It's just one parent who may not see these results in their child that they were hoping. Keep doing your job and keep doing your best. I got a new student yesturday who is an overflow student. Meaning, if someone leaves at the other school he's supposed to be at, he has the option of moving into that classroom. I asked mom if she will do this and she said, only if he likes your classroom. I told this to my reading first coach and she said, just keep doing what you're doing and don't feel pressured by this parent. So, like I said, keep doing your job. You have it hard this year- not only are you a first year teacher, but you're also the only kinderteacher. You don't really have anyone to talk to or share ideas with. So, I'll keep rooting for you!

4. srh

srh Devotee

Nov 9, 2006