Someone from a charter school emailed me about interviewing for a teaching position

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Peachyness, Jan 3, 2011.

1. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jan 3, 2011

I was, and still am, a bit skeptical. I did check out the school and it is indeed a real school. The school was even on the local news show.

I will call him tomorrow during lunch time.

It's for a charter school and they are looking for people with strong mathematics background (they focus on math and science, which is right up my alley!!!). But, it's in a tougher part of the town. And, it's a charter school.

I also have no clue how he knew about me. He wrote my full name and knew I was a fully credentialed teacher.

So, what's it like working for a charter school? Is there a chance to become tenured?

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jan 3, 2011

This school was also taken over by the state. What is working for a school that was taken over by the state like? Apparently, they've been making a lot of growth since then. After having worked at low SES schools, I KNOW I would be able to work well at a school like this, but I'm still nervous and skeptical about this school.

4. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Jan 3, 2011

Visit the school. Talk to the teachers there. There are good and bad charters just like there are good and bad neighborhood schools. Charters are public schools that are allowed to receive outside funding alongside what they get from the district. They are not private schools. They are part of the local district. There's no reason that it wouldn't be a "real school" or that it would be bad just because it's a charter.

5. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jan 3, 2011

Hmm, yes, that's a good idea about visiting the school. When I call the man back tomorrow, I'll ask about a tour and the chance to observe some classes. I'm sure my principal won't mind my taking a day off to do that.

6. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Jan 3, 2011