Social Studies Ideas

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by megawinn, Aug 30, 2010.

1. megawinn

megawinn Rookie

Aug 30, 2010

I am a brand new teacher. :) After a year long job search, I was offered a half time teaching position at a high school. I was offered the job the weekend before school started for teachers. A week after school started, I was offered a full time position!!! I am so happy to be teaching and excited for a new year. I've read really amazing advice on this forum and I've gathered some great ideas. I would really love some advice, examples, ideas, etc. for teaching World Civilization and AP U.S. History. I am specifically hoping to get some class activity ideas but I would welcome any advice!

Thank you so much!

3. Soccer Dad

Soccer Dad Cohort

Sep 6, 2010

Hi and welcome to A to Z. You're definitely in the right spot. I teach history as well and have taught those courses you've mentioned.

Before I bombard you with lesson plans, worksheets, and everything in between, how are you teaching World Civilizations? In other words, is it chronological or regional? Also, is it year 1, year 2 or combined?

As for APUSH, I recommend you message a user on here called Brendan. He's a great APUSH teacher and very helpful with lesson plans--he's helped me a lot with my own planning.

4. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Sep 6, 2010