Social Studies Content

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by dunwool, Feb 1, 2010.

1. dunwool

dunwool Rookie

Feb 1, 2010

I am a first year teacher (and the only third grade class in my school) and I am struggling with teaching social studies (and science for that matter!) content to my students. Last year their teacher really didn't teach them social studies or science and when they did do these, it was a quick activity, and they moved on! This is what my third graders expect this year! :eek: At this point in the year they should really be transitioning to the reading to learn point in their education but they are resisting this at every attempt! I am having such a hard time with my students actually learning anything from what they read but rather they just want me to spoon feed them everything. This is a very immature group and their teacher last year did not do them any favors in terms of holding them to a high standard. So, my question is how do you do social studies (and science too) so that it is hands-on but also incorporates content based education - either through lecture or reading? My mind is spinning from the resistance I am getting and am at witts end! :dizzy: Thank you so much for them help!

3. HeatherY

HeatherY Habitué

Feb 2, 2010

We are aiming for a lot of content based reports in social studies. They did a biography project, now we are doing a country of orgin project and then at the end they will do a cultures group project. I teach them to get information from the book- note take in short phrases (not copy) and then write using the notes. (This activity actually has a coat of arms art project and ties in with writing correct 5 sentence paragraphs). It does feed in with the reading to learn concept that you were talking about. Some of my kids get this right away- it is harder for some to know what to write and not copy. My ELL kids have it the hardest. But overall I think this strategy for social studies is working well for our kids.