Social Studies and Science

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by NewTeacher12345, Sep 1, 2019.

1. NewTeacher12345

NewTeacher12345 Rookie

Sep 1, 2019

Hi everyone! I am a new teacher and my district does not have a set curriculum for science or social studies. I am almost positive that we just follow the Massachusetts frameworks and develop our own units from the 4 major content areas/topics. Are there any resources that anyone knows of that aligns to this framework? Preferably entire unit plans that i can follow in order to keep it consistent. Thanks!

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Sep 1, 2019

Let google be your BFF.
    There are probably an abundance of prepared plans that you can access easily.

Obadiah, Tired Teacher and bella84 like this.
  4. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Sep 1, 2019

What grade?

Also check out resources on teacherspayteachers.

5. Tired Teacher

Tired Teacher Cohort

Sep 1, 2019

I used to make my own units when working in a district that did not provide a set curriculum. That way I liked what I was teaching. If I had to do it all over again, I think I'd find SS or science books ( my grade level) from used book stores or Amazon to save time. Then I'd pull from them what I wanted to use.
    It would save the time of googling ALL, but help give you a basic framework to pull from and you will like what you are teaching. I have looked at teacherspayteachers a little bit. Not enough to be an expert on it, but I haven't seen anything on there that I couldn't make myself for free that I wanted. I have seen some cute stuff that if I'd have had an account, I probably would have wasted a bunch of money on.....lol I like to shop, but don't do much of it anymore.
    Good luck! :)

6. runsw/scissors

runsw/scissors Phenom

Sep 14, 2019