So ready to say goodbye....

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by twilight11105, Jul 20, 2013.

1. twilight11105

twilight11105 Rookie

Jul 20, 2013

I have been visiting this site for a few months now & have been inspired by the many people so willing to share their experiences, triumphs & tribulations. I thought I might give it a try....very briefly I'm a 2nd career teacher. I got my license in early 2011... have done subbing, LTS, briefly taught SpEd, was an IA....I just learned today that the district I have been working for over 1 1/2 has passed me up for not the 1st but 2nd time. I have been applying like crazy but getting no where :unsure: Anyway, what keeps you going in the job search after news like this????

3. panjteacher

panjteacher Rookie

Jul 20, 2013

I am a later career changer, left a completely okay job and started in 2007, ed assist, went back and went the traditional route, racked up mucho debt and subbed. I have been turned down 4 straight summers for multiple long term sub assignments (it is a well thought of district and they can get by stringing people along). I graduated from there, served as an ed assistant for and subbed for them many many times. I also pay property tax there.
    Another district where I subbed for a few years and keep in contact and was friendly with Superintendent and principals. Never got a single interview.
    What keeps me going? My kid keeps me going and hoping a second job in the house will allow him to go to college easier than I had it. My wife, who let me go back to school and dealt with my crazy hours and my depression from not getting a job.
    Maybe I do it because I cannot look back and believe I wasted so much time, energy and money to let myself be "beat".

I also play the lottery so maybe I just can't figure odds.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2013
  4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 20, 2013

Are you willing to relocate?

5. Rainbowbird

Rainbowbird Groupie

Jul 20, 2013