So how common is this?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Sarge, Jan 21, 2010.

1. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Jan 21, 2010

No teacher work days.
    No prep.
    No specials.
    No aid.
    School locked up on weekends.
    Long list of mandatory individual, one-on-one, interview type assessments with no release time or sub coverage - "Have them doing seat work"

I'm asking because it seems a lot of other people (mostly in states other than California) get these things.

3. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Jan 21, 2010

My school district does not pay teachers to come in for work days. We have PD days, but those are planned for us; we don't get to work on grades or planning or in our rooms. As a junior high teacher, I have no aide. Every K-5 teacher in our district has an aide, but at the JH, only the special ed classes have aides. As to the rest of your list, I don't have to deal with those types of things.

4. zoey'smom

zoey'smom Cohort

Jan 21, 2010

We have teachers institute and School improvement days that are planned, but those days also have planned things for us to do.

My prep time is during our specials, I get about 55 minutes a day plus lunch.

Specials- We have Library one day a week, computers, 2 days a week, music 2 days a week and PE everyday.

Aids- We have two school aids that help in the classrooms and with RTI. I get one for about an hour a day during my reading time. They also pull out kids for RTI.

We can get in our rooms anytime including on weekends.

Our school discourages seat work and we do have aides help with assessments.

I teach in a very small town and school district in a rural area in Illinois.

5. GlendaLL

GlendaLL Aficionado

Jan 21, 2010

This is the way it was when I taught in Lutheran schools. Plus, we ate lunch with our kids too.

However, the schools were either unlocked or I had a key so that I could get in any time.

6. Jem

Jem Aficionado

Jan 21, 2010