so discouraged!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by hnl79, Mar 15, 2008.

1. hnl79

hnl79 New Member

Mar 15, 2008

I feel so discouraged! I graduated in December 07 with a Early Childhood degree. I went back to school to get this degree so I am 28. In my town there are 12 elementary schools. I was so hoping to get a job at the school I student taught. I had an interview and the principal wanted to hire me but I found out from my CT that the assistant principal did not want to b/c I was nervous at the interview. I am a first year teacher! Of course I am going to be nervous! So there goes that school. I had another interview last Friday, and i haven't heard anything yet. This morning I went to a job fair for teachers for the district I live in, and I wanted to cry. There were about 75 people there for early childhood positions. The interview sessions were supposed to be 15 minutes each and I had 4 interviews at 4 different schools. Two in which the principal interviewed and the others teachers from that school interviewed me. They all asked the same questions from a form they had. It was like a cattle call. I saw the teacher that sat in on the interview I had last Friday and she told me she received that thank you card I sent. Then she said good luck today, which makes me think I did not get the job at her school. I feel so depressed that I am not going to get a job. I do not know what I am doing wrong at these interviews! :confused: I already had to move back home b/c of a relationship ending. I am 28 I am not supposed to be living at home!:mad: I also have no health insurance. I am to the point were I am just going to go and work in a office somewhere. I did not think it would be this hard to get a teaching job. I just want to crawl in a hole!!

3. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Mar 15, 2008