SMARTboard

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by wcormode, Aug 17, 2010.

1. wcormode

wcormode Rookie

Aug 17, 2010

I am a new teacher and will be teaching high school math. Our first inservice is next Monday and it will focus almost completely on the use of SMARTboards. They had a few boards last year on rollers and they rotated rooms depending on need. This year they have three new ones in boxes as yet to be decided on their permanent location.

If I had a one I know for a fact I would use it every day. I would use it for Warm-Up problems and notes. Plus I would use it for example problems in lieu of a dry erase board.

Since they have not decided on location yet I am assuming there was desire but no specific person clamoring for them. What grounds do I have as a first year teacher to ask for one to be installed in my room? It may be no problem but I dont want to sound needy in asking for one. I am sure it will be cleared up that day if their location is open to debate.

Also, are there any good websites for Math activities on the SMARTboard. Having specific things in mind may solidify my case.

Thanks

3. Maryhf

Maryhf Connoisseur

Aug 17, 2010

We had a similar situation and the boards all went to new teachers who were anxious to put them into use. They have all gotten permanently installed boards because they proved that the technology would be used. Hope your school does the same.

4. SciTeacherNY

SciTeacherNY Companion

Aug 17, 2010

Last year I was a second year teacher at my school and I got a interactive whiteboard, while very few older teachers did.

5. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Aug 17, 2010

6. quesoqueen

quesoqueen Rookie

Aug 17, 2010

7. wcormode

wcormode Rookie

Aug 18, 2010

That is what I was hoping. I would assume that the older teachers have everything like they want it and would be adverse to starting a whole new method. If I go without it this year I should be set up for next year and am not sure I would want to switch.