Small Loans-I am BROKE!!!

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by VANewbie, Jul 18, 2010.

1. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Jul 18, 2010

I am having MAJOR money issues. Major. I want to start grad school, I have bills coming from all over, I owe a lot of money. My teacher salary is not cutting it. I need a part time job but how will I manage a full time, part time, and full time in grad school?

So I am thinking about taking out a small loan to pay all of smaller bills and just pay back the loan. Plus I am about to move into a cheaper apartment so I need money for the administration deposit.

I am thinking about going to the local credit union to get a small loan and I have never done this before. I have excellent credit and I have a steady job. What would make them deny me a loan?

Anyone ever have to do this? Advice?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 18, 2010

See what the rates are on a consolidation loan.

4. mom2mikey

mom2mikey Cohort

Jul 18, 2010

Do you have "lines of credit" down there? Can you not just get that set up with your bank account instead?

5. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Jul 18, 2010

What is a line of credit?

6. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jul 18, 2010

Will you paying for grad school or loaning that as well? Is it a requirement?

I don't have any experience with this type of loan, but I would speak to a financial advisor if possible before making any moves.

7. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Jul 18, 2010

I will take out loans for grad school with the school. I am not worried about that because that is different. I just need a small loan to cover my new apartment deposits and pay off some of my small bills.

8. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 18, 2010

Why not put grad school on hold for six months or a year? That will enable you to put in more part time hours,and not go crazy trying to be everywhere at once as you get things together.

9. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Jul 18, 2010

:(