Sleeping in Class

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by I Am The Future, Dec 13, 2009.

1. I Am The Future

I Am The Future Rookie

Dec 13, 2009

What is your view on sleeping in class? I'm only an apiring teacher, and haven't actually experianced it from the teacher's POV, so my opinion will be slightly skewed until I DO have that experiance. :) So, until then, I like to sift through everyone else's methods.

So what is your policy? Do you allow it? Not allow it? Do you think it's disrespectful? Do you consider WHY they're sleeping? Do you think it's a reflection on your lesson?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Dec 13, 2009

Right now it's flu season. Lots of kids are fighting illness.

When I wake kids up... I'll ask them if they need to go to the nurse. And in study hall, I tend to overlook it, unless it's a daily thing.

But it's NOT OK to sleep in my class. If you can't keep your eyes open for 38 minutes, you should be home in bed.

4. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Dec 13, 2009

In general, I would call it rude and disrespectful, but as Alice said, there's a time to overlook it. I have allowed students to sleep in my class, but that was when I knew there was an underlying issue and going home was not an option. Unless there's something brought to my attention, and it's not study hall, then I'm going to wake the student up and ask if he or she needs to call home. If it becomes a persistent problem, then appropriate disiplinary measures will be put into place.

5. futureteach21

futureteach21 Habitué

Dec 13, 2009