Situation Critical: Job options/direction

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by SuperSide, Jan 18, 2009.

1. SuperSide

SuperSide Rookie

Jan 18, 2009

I have posted here before wondering what I should do about my challenges with my teaching degree.

To sum:

I graduated with my B.ed in 2005. Getting the degree was even an ify, as my partner teacher did not think I was "cut out" for teaching. I got the degree, but with a terrible "evaluation".

I am pretty sure that evaluation/my reputation at my last year cost me several jobs. Job where I nailed that interview and we even set a start date, only to have to offers taken away after my background check.. (Getting called on the start date and being told that everyone was sick so I shouldn't come in. But to just wait until I hear from them to reschedule. No call. No returns. No Answer. These always happened after my background check.

*My background check should not have turned up anything illegal, in no way would I ever harm a child. It could only have to do with my relationship (negative) with my partner teacher and the principal at the school.

Now my certificate is about to expire. I am trying to get it extended because I have been teaching in a none traditional classroom, but I have still been teaching.

However, as the economy is taking a turn for the worse, I really need to start working on getting a good, decent paying job. Neither of which I have right now.

So, do I renew my Teachers Certificate, even though I have been rejected at every step, and at every interview I've gone to? (My teaching job now, I did not get as a result of an interview. I volunteered there first.).

*It was a dream of mine since I was in High School to teach. Now I feel that eventually, if you hand onto dreams too long, the dreams just become delusions.