Since we are being honest.....

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ecteach, Jan 14, 2015.

1. ecteach

ecteach Devotee

Jan 14, 2015

:p:p
    We were all so honest about PLC's.
    -so-
    Are your planning periods effective? Do you manage your time well? I recently got a planning period. It's about 30 minutes long at the beginning of the day. As a self-contained teacher, I've never had this at any school I ever worked at. I am very grateful for it, and I have experienced less anxiety about the day ahead just by having this time. However, I feel like it's not long enough to really finish anything. Most of the time I just check my e-mail, use the bathroom, organize a few things, and get ready for the day ahead.

Suggestions are appreciated.

3. Koriemo

Koriemo Comrade

Jan 14, 2015

I have two planning periods, and I don't think I always use them effectively. Sometimes I get last minute things done, but I just like the mental break. I do a lot of easy research- surfing the net for ideas and activities that we can do.

4. MissMae

MissMae Rookie

Jan 14, 2015

Depends on what I need to get done. I come in early and get my morning prep (changing calendar, passing out morning work, the odd copy) done.

During prep I might do things around the room I have been putting off (read: laminate! anchor charts!). I mostly research new things OR get TAP stuff or IEP paperwork done. Or if I'm doing a hands-on lesson that can't be prepped ahead of time I will do that. I never start something during prep that I will not or can not finish, because I tend to not go back to it for a few days and then it just sits there, unfinished...staring at me!!!

A lot of my heavy prep things are done on Sundays unfortunately.

5. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Jan 14, 2015

This year the schedules and specials were rearranged... giving each general classroom teacher a solid straight hour every single day.