simple, simple class rules

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by teach4christ, Jul 30, 2009.

1. teach4christ

teach4christ Rookie

Jul 30, 2009

Does anyone have "catchy" (easy-to-remember and easy to use as reminders) class rules? As a 3rd grade teacher my 3 rules were: Be ready, Be responsible, Be respectful... those broad categories covered everything but would be too abstract for Kindergarten I know. (Of course, we described each "rule" with how it looks in daily scenarios.) So anything similar for Kindergarten that has been helpful? Thanks for the ideas!

3. mel-bel

mel-bel Rookie

Jul 30, 2009

Class rules, borrowed from a friend

who borrowed from her friend, who borrowed from her friend.....
    It's worked for my kinders and 1st graders. I even used sign language to help them remember. We talk about examples of how to follow/break the rules at the beginning of the year, then throughout the year students can tell me how their behavior breaks a rule and which rule they broke.

We raise our hand and wait to speak.
    We work quietly in our seat.
    We use voices soft and sweet.
    We leave our area nice and neat.
    We are helpful, friendly, and fair.
    We take turns and always share.

4. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Jul 30, 2009

The Rules Rap by Jr. Jean (see drjean.org) - simple, catchy, she sells a book to go with it (TLC Press, I think)

The rules, the rules, the rules of the classroom:
    Follow directions
    Feet and hands to yourself
    Small voices inside, large voices on the playground
    Take care of your things, keep the classroom neat and clean
    Work together, get along and respect each other

Catchy, easy tune to learn. Pretty soon all I have to sing is "The rules, the rules.." and they know what to do and redirect their own behavior.

5. luv2teachK

luv2teachK Rookie

Jul 30, 2009

At our school we teach our students the ABC's:

A: Act Responsibly
    B: Be Safe
    C: Care for Others