signals for different requests (Harry Wong)

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by uscsoccer, Aug 9, 2012.

1. uscsoccer

uscsoccer Rookie

Aug 9, 2012

I've been reading some Harry Wong, and he suggests having the kids use different signals for different requests- two fingers up to leave their seat, whole hand up for your help, etc. I've never seen anyone use these signals with kids older than elementary school, and am thinking that it's too young for middle schoolers. This is my first time with this age group, though. What do you all think?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Aug 9, 2012

I don't do that. Too much to remember. They just raise their hand and ask.

4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Aug 9, 2012

Too much for me. There is enough to remember with regular stuff, much less hand signals. Plus, I've sometimes got as many as 35 kids in the room at a time.

5. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Aug 9, 2012

I read it and I'm definitely going to try it this year. I had a problem with students raising their hands during instruction and distracting everyone and me from teaching by asking to go the bathroom, sharpen pencils, get up to throw something away, or worse, just blurting out.

Silent hand signals that I can respond to just as silently sounds like a great idea. My kids are middle schoolers, 8th graders actually, and yeah, they'll probably think its childish.

But if I do it from the beginning, I'm assuming they'll eventually just forget about it being childish, and just start using the procedure. If not, oh well.

I have 35 students in all of my classes, and it would just be impossible if half of them had their hands up for all different reasons and I didn't know if it was to legitimately ask for help or to use the bathroom or sharpen a pencil.

Mine are:
    Fingers crossed - Needs to use the Bathroom
    Peace sign - I need help
    Holding a pencil up - I need to sharpen my pencil
    Holds up trash - I want to throw this away