Sight Words and Other Standards

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by MorahMe, Nov 28, 2010.

1. MorahMe

MorahMe Habitué

Nov 28, 2010

A little background: This is my first year back in my current school after five years in other places. When I last taught here, there was no K curriculum, and they were happy with whatever I managed to teach with very few resources. I wasn't happy with the set-up, because I felt like the first grade teachers would always be disappointed by how little the girls knew coming in.

This year, they added in a reading curriculum, which I am VERY happy about. I don't have to try and think of ideas off the top of my head, and do all the research on my own. The program we are using is Beginning to Read, Write, and Listen from Macmillan/McGraw Hill. The program strongly discourage sight words, and recommends that you only expect the children to read and write words with the letters they have already learned.

Here's the problem. Last week, we had a massive faculty meeting, in fact, the first one since the start of the year. The principal introduced the National Core Standards, and basically told us to do the best we can to incorporate them into what we are already doing in class, and to come to her or her assistant with any questions.

Before I go to either of them (I can't locate my folder, and don't want to go to them without it. This long weekend really messed up my organization!) with my questions, I have some for all of you:

1. As I said, the program I'm using strongly discourages teaching sight words. One of the standards I was given is that the students should know basic sight words. Should I ignore what the program says, and start incorporating sight words into my curriculum, or continue as I've been doing until now?

2. If I add sight words to my curriculum, where is the best place to get a list of sight words? What's the best order to teach them?

:confused: :help: