Sidebar Conversations During P.D./Meetings

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Moogeeg, Nov 4, 2014.

1. Moogeeg

Moogeeg Companion

Nov 4, 2014

I will preface this with mentioning that I am a first-year teacher, so this is all pretty new to me.

Today, I attended an AWESOME professional development conference. I was, however, absolutely astounded at the sidebar conversations going on between attendees (teachers) at full voice volume! There were two tables in a fairly small six-table room that were talking so loudly that the presenter was barely audible. I have also noticed similar behaviors in my school's staff meetings.

Is this normal? The presenter did not say anything or address the issue. Have you ever had a presenter call out those who were having sidebar conversations? Do any of you call out colleagues/fellow attendees when they are doing this?

I am curious to hear all of your input.

3. happybat4

happybat4 Rookie

Nov 4, 2014

Always happens at PD meetings and staff meetings I have had. Don't know why teachers are so bad at listening and not talking.

4. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Nov 4, 2014

Teachers are just as bad as their students during PD. Most PD presenters will do nothing. But ones who are good (and have probably been teachers or admin) will call them out on it.

It's the same thing with classroom management. If you stay on top of it, and call them out when it happens, it will happen less. If you try to ignore it, the talking will just increase.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Nov 4, 2014

Not out of the norm in my experience.

6. Moogeeg

Moogeeg Companion

Nov 4, 2014

That makes sense. Sometimes P.D. sessions are longer than they have to be, or simply not engaging.

I am glad to hear that some presenters have the guts to actually call teachers out- it would definitely make you unpopular in the moment, though!