Should teachers be required to attain masters degrees?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by jim kental, Mar 5, 2009.

1. jim kental

jim kental New Member

Mar 5, 2009

:eek::confused::eek::mad::eek::lol::eek::cool::eek::):eek::(

Almost a decade ago I completed a masters degree in secondary education. I had been teaching for a while, and was working incredibly hard at helping my students as much as possible. I also was helping my aging father, and trying to basically run my life effectively. I must say that my masters took a lot out of me; although I enjoyed grad school, it recquired an enormous amount of time and effort, and thousands of dollars I really could have used. In short... the masters imposed a lot of time and trouble on my already busy and stressful life.
    I really wouldn't have minded this big inconvenience... if the masters actually contributed to my teaching. But it didn't. Did I learn anything from it? Yes. But what I learned really wasn't applicable to my teaching. Interestingly, the great majority of my colleagues, and my peers at grad school, said the same thing. Occassionaly, I do meet someone who believes that a masters in teaching is well worth it ( for school teachers). But when I question these people, they really can't give a good example, or reason, for their stance. Usually, they will admit that the things they "picked up" in grad school were already learned and discussed in their undergraduate years.
    What I am trying to get across is that a masters degree in teaching should not be required if you are just going to teach elementary or secondary schoolchildren. If a school teacher wants to attain one on his/her own, why not. But it shouldn't be mandatory. As I stated before, a masters in teaching doesn't improve teacher performance.